San Francisco’s Fisherman’s Wharf is proudly unique among the scenic waterfront attractions of the world. The Fisherman’s Wharf of today rests on land created from the rubble of buildings destroyed in the earthquake and fire of 1906. What could not be destroyed was the love of the sea, generations of fishing skills, and traditions expressed in good things to eat and drink.
Many of the well-known sights of today were developed only in the last few decades. The original Meigg’s Wharf was once the main port of entry to San Francisco and an extremely industrious place. Lumber, food, and immigrants all arrived here, and railroads came right to the water’s edge to pick up building supplies for the rapidly growing city. Hardworking fishermen, both Chinese and Italian (who were often accompanied by their wives), set out to make a living by catching fish and crab in small vessels at the wharf.
It is the heritage of these early fishermen, which contributes to today’s color blending of the old and the new at Fisherman’s Wharf – the center of an ocean-oriented industry beloved by native San Franciscans and visitors alike. Today, as in the past, it is the fishing fleet that gives Fisherman’s Wharf its authenticity and activity.
49 MILE DRIVE